Mo flash, mo problems: multiple flash

Adding any extra gear is always just like very terrifying to me right off the bat. But seeing as how we not only added more flashes into the equation but also added more assistance (bless bless) things balanced out. This shoot was actually the first shoot this lighting semester that I got to go out and feel like a real reporter again. Usually I’m so hung up on the technique and how obnoxious flashes probably are for my subjects, but this time around I approached it different. I talked to my subject for quite a while and just got a sense of him and his business and the atmosphere of the place (Billiards on Broadway) before shooting right away.

20170413_mf_matew_lr_31
Les Wagner, an avid pool player and owner of Billiards on Broadway in Columbia, Mo, plays a few games of pool by himself in-between greeting friends and recounting his favorite pool related stories on Wednesday April 12, 2017. “Great thing about pool is you can play it by yourself, you can play it with your friends, you can play it as a young man, you can play it as an old man,” Wagner said. Billiards on Broadway has been open for 9 years in the small Columbia, Mo, community. “You’ve got all these balls, the lights, the green wool cloth, “ Wagner said, “If you notice all the lights are pointed on the table, but you can step out of the lights into the shadows and drink a beer and talk with friends and then step back into the lights and play this very public sport, and make a fool of yourself, you get it?” © Whitney Matewe

Lighting Diagram

20170413_mf_matew_ld

Technical Breakdown:

I shot with a Nikon D750 body, a Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8 lens, two Nikon SB-910 strobes, and a Nikon wireless Speedlight commander SU-800. I synced the two strobes on the cameras remotely and them at 55mm (one at ISO 100, f/5, 24mm and another at ISO 100, f/2.8, 50mm – but I think my strobes were both powered at 1/64 overpowered by the commander). My camera settings for my select were at ISO 100, focal 38mm, exposure 1/160 shutter speed at f/2.8 My lighting choice was to cross light my subject, within 180 degrees, one on each side of my subject, but my key light was on the left and slightly closer to my subject while the fill was on the right. This resulted in some moody and dramatic lighting and cool shadows.

xo

Whitney Matewe

 

Leave a Reply

